Professor Erol Tutumluer

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) USA

Dr Erol Tutumluer is a Professor specializing in Transportation Geotechnics in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). Professor Tutumluer holds Paul F. Kent Endowed Faculty Scholar and serves as the Director of International Programs. Dr. Tutumluer has research interests and expertise in characterization of pavement and railroad track geomaterials, i.e., subgrade soils and base/ballast unbound aggregates, soil/aggregate stabilization, geosynthetics, modeling granular foundation systems using innovative techniques, sustainable use of foundation geomaterials and construction practices for transportation infrastructure, discrete element analysis of ballast, dynamic response measurement and analyses of track systems, and mechanistic analysis and design.

Dr. Tutumluer has served as an investigator on over 70 research projects with major railroad grants received from Federal Railroad Administration, Association of American Railroads, Amtrak, BNSF Railway, and Union Pacific Railroad. He has graduated 17 PhD and 34 MS students, and authored/co-authored over 300 peer reviewed publications from his research projects.

Dr. Tutumluer is the Editor-in-Chief of the new Transportation Geotechnics Elsevier journal and he is the Chair of the ISSMGE Technical Committee 202 on Transportation Geotechnics. He is a member of the AREMA Committee 1 on Ballast. Dr. Tutumluer is a member of the ASCE T&DI and Geo-Institute and served as the Chair of the ASCE Geo-Institute’s Pavements Committee in 2006-2012.

Dr. Tutumluer is an active affiliate of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) and serves as the Chair of TRB’s AFP00 Geological and Geoenvironmental Engineering Section. He served as the Chair of TRB’s AFP70 Aggregates Committee in 2011-2016 and he is a member of the AFS70 Geosynthetics Committee. Dr. Tutumluer was the 2000 recipient of the TRB’s Fred Burgraff award for Excellence in Transportation Research; he also received TRB’s Geology and Earth Materials Section Best Paper Awards in 2009 and 2012 and TRB’s Soil Mechanics Section Best Paper Award in 2016. He was selected and honored with Yangtze River Scholar Award by China Ministry of Education in 2016.